Meet the Boarding Staff

Mrs Holly wuidart gray - HOUSEMISTRESS - HIGHCROFT

After spending 16 years in Early Years, I started work in boarding at the Royal Hospital School 10 years ago. I have my Boarding School Association qualifications in Health and Welfare and in Boarding Management, supported by my experience of working with young people age 11 through to 18, both as matron and housemistress. I also co-ordinated and ran the schools Peer Support Mentor programme. I believe in achieving the best for each individual by listening to supporting them through adolescence, it is  a real privilege.

I have moved to Somerset with my husband Spencer, a retired Naval Officer who also works with young people through sports coaching and the D of E scheme. and our year old springer spaniel Merlin. We have 3 adult children who have also experienced the boarding system so have perspective as boarding parents too.

I enjoy swimming, walking, sewing, upcycling and baking and feel great qualities to instil in our children are: a have a go attitude and to be kind. I am very excited to be part of the boarding team at Bruton School for Girls as Senior Housemistress of Highcroft.

Mrs JULIE BENNETT - SENIOR HOUSEMISTRESS - CUMBERLEGE

I joined BSG in January 2018 and am very experienced at working with young people. I have done a lot of work with the Girl Guides and and have also recently worked as a Family Support Worker. I'm a graduate of Bath Spa University, qualified in Art and Graphic Design so I'm hoping to bring a wealth of talents, new ideas and creativity to the team!

Both our Housemistresses are assisted by a team of GAP students, Language Assistants and Graduate Assistant Teachers. Our Deputy Head, Mrs Rachel Robbins oversees our boarding provision.

Miss Jess Childs - Graduate teaching assistant

Growing up in Somerset, I joined BSG in 2017 with the intention of staying a year to complete my BA Hons, to which I am graduating this year. I fell in love with teaching and working in boarding at BSG and requested to stay another year. I am lucky to get the chance to teach and support such lovely and enthusiastic girls on a daily basis as well as their pastoral care back in the boarding houses.

I am a passionate sports woman playing in the County hockey, basketball and swimming teams as well as the U21 England Netball Academy team when I was 20. My hope is that my enthusiasm rubs-off on the girls who show such sporting talent.

Miss OLIVIA JONES - GRADUATE TEACHING ASSISTANT

I joined BSG September 2018 after graduating from Bath Spa University in July. I studied International Education with a specialism in Primary Education. Growing up in Wales and being half Italian, culture and language has been a big part of my life therefore studying has enabled me to further develop and understand how education systems are manifested by these factors. I have lots of experience working in schools and during my second year at Uni I was lucky enough to teach in Barcelona for three months whilst undergoing a research project. As well as experiences in classrooms I have been a Nanny for many lovely families. 

Sport and keeping active has also been a big part of my life for many years. I found a love for dancing when I was child and have been involved in lots of team sports. I was a sports leader for Netball during my A-Levels and played hockey at university so I’m looking forward to encouraging the girls to play this year as well as learning from the teaching staff.

I’ve been on a personal mission to become more sustainable, eco-friendly and aware of damage to the environment this year. I hope to encourage the girls to become mindful of this using creative ideas to engage the girls of this issue. 

Educating children is my passion and I aim to support every child to reach their goals and aspirations. I hope this year to inspire and engage the girls in fun activities within the boarding house and in the beautiful countryside in Bruton. 

Miss EMILY BRYANT - GAP STUDENT 

I grew up in Brisbane, Queensland – Australia.  I completed my education at Somerville House in Brisbane which, like BSG, is an all-girls school and has lime green and navy blue as its school colours. I love art, choir, playing soccer and netball.  I have an Airedale called Nelly, two cats called Bluebell and Maisie and two chickens, Beryl and Marge. I have been to England a few times as my Mum’s side of the family are British. The majority of Mum’s family live in Somerset, which is why BSG is such a wonderful school to be working at with regards to location. I am very excited to see what adventures and experiences this year has in store for Miss Mckillop and I. Similarly, I am so happy to be given the opportunity to be working alongside such funny, brilliant and kind girls, that I am still getting to know and learn more about.

Miss PENELOPE MCKILLOP - GAP STUDENT 

I grew up in a rural country town in North West NSW called Moree. Since then I have moved around a lot and now live in the hunter valley in a small town called Blandford. I live on a small farm and my parent’s breed beef cattle on it. I enjoy riding my horses and going water skiing. Both of my aunties live in England, one is in Oxford and the other has recently moved to Sudbury. I have three dogs, two are mastiffs and one is a miniature dachshund. I am looking forward to my year ahead working at Bruton. Everyone has been so lovely and welcoming and I can’t wait to get to know everyone better.

MISS HANNA BERGNER - german language assistant

Guten Tag. Ich heiße Hanna Bergner und bin die neue Sprachassistentin für Deutsch.

Hello. My name is Hanna Bergner and I am the German Language Assistant for 2018/19.

I am from Leipzig, a city with almost 600 000 inhabitants in Eastern Germany. Having passed my A-levels in June, I am spending a year here at Bruton School for Girls. When I return to Leipzig next year I want to study English and History at University and become a teacher. However, for now I am looking forward to exploring England and to meeting new people.

When I am not in the MFL Snug, I can be found in Highcroft or you can see me dancing. I have danced since I was 4 years old. I did many styles, for example Modern, Contemporary and Dance Theatre. I am really into music and have played the clarinet for 9 years. But I also like listening and reading about The Beatles, Pink Floyd and other big musicians of the last century.  Furthermore, I enjoy going for walks through the nice landscape of Somerset.

If you have any questions, please come and find me and have a chat. I am really looking forward to getting to know you!